top of page
Search
  • Zhuhai2019

Hong Kong SOS? Just Kidding :)

This week has probably been the most challenging week for me on this trip. First, it started with my laptop issues…first world problems, I know. Earlier this week, I spent every single break between classes calling Apple Support to see if they could help me boot up my laptop; Apple classified my laptop problems as a series of “kernel panics,” so it is quite the miracle that I am able to write this reflection right now. Not having a properly/consistently functioning laptop has made it difficult to teach my English classes and make improvements to my lessons, but Jinjie and I made the lessons work somehow. Later in the week, I started experiencing mild stomach issues, but I started feeling much better thanks to my host mother’s Chinese medicine practices and care <3. With the support of my Duke Engage peers and staff, I was able to maintain a positive attitude amidst all of this. I constantly reminded myself that I am only here in Zhuhai for a very short period of time and I shouldn’t waste my time here worrying about problems that can easily be fixed.


In the very beginning of this trip, I remember Yanan mentioning the cultural shock curve which has four phases: honeymoon, culture shock, adjustment, and adaptation. I am happy to say that I feel like I am beginning to fully adjust to my surroundings. I am making an effort to step out of the Duke-Engage bubble and actually get to know Zhuhai and its people. I have enjoyed bonding with other students’ host parents and siblings, as well as my host family’s friends. For Dragon Boat Festival, my family and I went to a farm in Doumen alongside Kristie’s host family and other family friends. This was my first time visiting a vineyard, picking fresh watermelons from plants, playing Mahjong (Chinese Domino?), and fishing! During the trip, I felt connected with my family to say the least. I was in awe by the nature and simple, worry-free lifestyle of the Doumen locals I interacted with. Later in the day, we visited my host father’s workplace. I was able to learn more about his company and the kind of work he does. I also joined the adults in preparing zongzi, the Chinese traditional Dragon Boat Festival dish, which was really REALLY difficult. I struggled folding the bamboo leaves correctly, so we all got a few laughs from that. Spending the entire day with my host family and their friends made me feel closer to Zhuhai and Chinese culture.


Now, when I walk alone on the streets, I try my best to not put on my earbuds and pay attention to the businesses and people around me. Ever since I stopped listening to music during my commutes, I’ve noticed so much about my surroundings, including the myriad of restaurants and milk tea shops right around the corner from home. When people stare me down on the streets, I even crack a slight smile. With roughly a month left in Zhuhai, I’ve started to think about the painful goodbyes. I’ve grown attached to this place and my host family.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kally (Kangdeng) Zhao--Final Performance Address

Kally (Kangdeng) Zhao was a student at Zhuhai No.9 School from 2011-13. She was a member of the DukeEngage Acting Class in 2011. In 2012, she was a host sister of Rebecca Gil in 2012, and had joined a

谢谢

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page