top of page
Search
  • Zhuhai2019

廣州給我的印象

廣州給我的印象

Guangzhou didn’t exactly give me the most pleasant first experience. At the airport, more than ten cabs in a row refused to take us because we had too much luggage (which was 2 suitcases, a carry-on and a backpack). This negative experience was compounded by the fact that my taximate was annoyed at me for bringing the luggage (which was not her fault, but at that moment all I could think of was “what do you want from me now to throw a suitcase away?”). The taxicab was in complete silence and I was disheartened; Guangzhou was polluted, cloudy and depressing.

Great thing my first impression didn’t last. The breakfast at 星程酒店 was amazing, I had never had 粥、腸粉、or 蔥油餅 before. My sadness quickly washed away, and I finally got a taste of what I thought my experience would be like. We spent a ton of time at 執信 and it at first felt like a business pitch, but it was the least we could sit through to enjoy such a rich experience. I wish I had more time to come up with something for the news report instead of blabbing random rubbish on television. Professor Ku is absolutely fantastic, but I wish she wouldn’t make me translate on the spot, because I didn’t know some of the 成語 or traditional words that 王校長 used, and looked like an idiot on the first day. In any case, getting to use my 15 words of Cantonese was fun, and trying so many different flavours and types of food was great, and our two private meals were absolutely delightful.

The friends I made in Guangzhou were few, but the experiences I made on the trip were unforgettable One funny experience was when I was on the cruise and the partner up with whom I was paired told me she really liked me before the end of the cruise, and told posted it on WeChat. We still talk on WeChat sometimes, and for 520 she sent me something on WeChat, but hopefully we can still chat occasionally, and I can help her with her English homework. On to Zhuhai。

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kally (Kangdeng) Zhao--Final Performance Address

Kally (Kangdeng) Zhao was a student at Zhuhai No.9 School from 2011-13. She was a member of the DukeEngage Acting Class in 2011. In 2012, she was a host sister of Rebecca Gil in 2012, and had joined a

谢谢

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page